top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Whoa...we're (over) half way there...so here are my top reads for 2020 (so far)...

Yes, that title is a shout out to Bon Jovi. Let's face it, so far 2020 has not been the best year, and music and books are the only things that have kept me sane during these crazy times. This year hasn't been a total bust though as it's given me extra time to read (since there isn't much else to do) and I'm sure to reach my goal of 150 books read this year. Of the 135 that I've read so far, here is the list of my top reads of 2020 (in no particular order):


Angry God by LJ Shen: This is the third and final installment of the All Saints High series, spin-offs of the Sinners of Saint series. To say that I am sad to say good-bye to these characters is such an understatement. With each book, we are taken deeper into this world, and this story is by far one of the darkest and most heartbreaking. LJ Shen has such an amazing way of writing her characters so that you understand them and you feel every emotion right along with them. Amazing, 5-star ending to this series!


Hearts and Thorns by Ella Fields: Ella Fields is a master at angst-driven young adult romance, and she definitely does not disappoint with Hearts and Thorns. A forbidden step-sibling love story, this book will have you feeling EVERYTHING. I wanted to cry, scream, and throw my Kindle. Then as I turned the last page, I just wanted to beg for more. 5+ stars!


Dying for Rain (The Rain Trilogy) by B.B. Easton: This is an incredible conclusion to this trilogy and while I'm happy that the story is complete, I secretly wish that there was more. I love the story of Wes and Rain and it's one that I will not forget.


The Unsainted Series by K.V. Rose: Wow! What a series! This is one TWISTED story that is dark, feels oh so wrong, but is oh so good. These books are not for the faint of heart. I was completely engrossed in this story and devoured it. I can't wait for more!


The Life Series by Jewel E. Ann: It's hard to even put into words how I felt after reading this duet. It is a suspenseful, tragic, and heartbreaking read. It is a story that may question your beliefs and test your morals, and it will leave you thinking about these characters long after you turn the last page. Jewel E. Ann is a master at creating a world that sucks you in from the very first page and she has done it again. 5+ stars!


A King So Cold by Ella Fields: If you have read any of Ella Fields works, I'll just begin by saying that this book is different than anything else that she's published. Different but no less amazing. In A King So Cold, she creates a beautiful story of royalty and fantasy. It's a modern day fairy tale complete with betrayal and lies, arranged marriage,heartbreak, and war. I will admit that this isn't a genre that I typically read, but this book is so well written and just so good, that I found myself fully engrossed in this story and in this fantastical world. I would give it more than 5-stars if I could.


Naked or Dead by AE Murphy and Xela Knight: Wow! What a ride! I had never read a book by this author, but the blurb caught my attention so I thought I'd give it a try. I had no idea what I was getting into! What I thought was going to be a slightly suspenseful story had a twist that I never saw coming and completely threw me for a loop. Excellent story!


Fortuity by Jewel E. Ann: Fortuity is the third book in the Transcend series. Although this could be read as a complete stand alone novel, the story takes place almost a decade after the Transcend/Epoch duet ends and it just means so much more if you've read the other two books (plus, Transcend and Epoch is one of my most favorite duets EVER, so just go ahead and read that first!) This story is described as a romantic comedy, and I did laugh out loud at several points throughout this story. More than once, I laughed to the point of tears, but then the actual tears came too. I didn't cry because it is tragic or really sad, but in true Jewel E Ann fashion, this story will give you ALL. THE. FEELS. It is bittersweet, heartwarming, and just so REAL at times. It's a beautifully told story that will tug at your heartstrings and leave you with a smile. Absolute perfection!


Unorthodox by K.V. Rose: Unorthodox is the first book in the Sick Love duet and that name is fitting, because there really is some sick love between Max and Addison. K.V. Rose warns you at the beginning of this book that it is full of triggers, and she's not joking. This story deals with sex trafficking, child abuse, murder, rape...it has it all, some scenes are a little graphic and others not so much. But be warned if those are triggers for you. Some parts of this book are difficult to read, but this story...it is full of twists and turns, suspense and heartbreak. I can't wait to see what happens in book #2.


Aggro by Carrie Gray and Coralee June: Wow. Just wow. I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book, but I sure didn't anticipate the roller coaster ride that is Aggro. This story has quite a few twists and turns, and although I did figure out one part of the story line, there is still one moment where my jaw literally hit the floor. HIT. THE. FLOOR. Shocking, seriously shocking. A must-read!


The Girl in the Love Song by Emma Scott: Emma Scott has done it again. She's stolen my heart with The Girl in the Love Song. She's built a world of characters that are intriguing, heartbreaking, and real. This is Miller and Violet's story and it's a story of first love -- only love. It's a story of hardship and adversity, illness, loss, and overcoming ALL of those things to achieve your dreams and goals and to stay true to your heart. It's a beautiful beginning to this series and I can't wait for more.


Asher by Carian Cole: Asher is the long-awaited sixth book in the Ashes & Embers series, and it is well worth the wait. Let me just start off by saying that Asher Valentine is the perfect man. He's a long haired, tattooed rock star with a heart of gold and has been faithfully in love since he was 15 years old. This story is both heartbreaking and frustrating at times. This is an amazing story of loss, grief, second chances, and a forever love.


Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner: Make Me Hate You has a plot that I've read a dozen times before: girl is in love with her best friend's brother (not knowing that he is in love with her too), brother breaks girl's heart and they spend the next several years apart before being forced back together. What makes this book special is the author's ability to take that plot and make it fresh and new, make it a page-turner with ALL the feels, and make you never want to leave the characters behind. Jaz and Tyler's story made me laugh, made me cry, broke my heart and put it back together. It made me feel for every single heart involved in this love story, and that is romance at it's finest.


The Gifted Duet by Moira Hale: I really wasn't sure what to expect from this duet, but the blurb drew me in and I definitely wasn't disappointed. The story gives X-Men vibes as it's about a school for the "gifted" although these students aren't just mentally gifted, they each have different powers that make it difficult for them to live in society. From the beginning, it's obvious that things aren't really on the up and up, and you're not sure who can be trusted or who is telling the truth. Well told, suspenseful read.


The Ravenhood Duet by Kate Stewart: Intense. That's the first word that comes to mind when I sit down to try to put my thoughts together to review this duet. This story is one of the most emotional, gut wrenching, heartbreaking stories that I've read in a very long time. Kate Stewart is a MASTER storyteller. You feel every emotion right along with every character, and sometimes, it's almost too much. There were so many times throughout this story that I thought I knew where the story was headed and then BAM! A twist, a turn, a bombshell would be dropped and it would take off in another direction, taking my heart right along with it. You don't just read this story, you live it...you survive it. My heart feels like it's been put through the wringer. I both wanted to get to the end to see how it played out, but at the same time, the ending left me with a heavy heart because I didn't want the story to be over. I may never get over this one!


Forbidden Fate by Mary Catherine Gebhard: Once in awhile, a story comes along that absolutely consumes the reader. Forbidden Fate (and Stolen Soulmate), the second and third installments in the Crowne Point series by Mary Catherine Gebhard, is one of those stories. You will feel every emotion while reading this story. I was angry, sad, disappointed, shocked and heartbroken. To me, that is what makes a book truly unforgettable, when you forget that you're reading and just feel everything; when you're completely taken into another world. This story is one that will stay with you long after you turn the last page.


If you haven't yet read any of these titles, I highly recommend that you check them out. I'm definitely looking forward to adding to my list as the year goes on, and I'm hoping for better days ahead. Until then, let's just keep reading!






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page