top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

It's a Wrap! Here are My Top Reads of 2023!

It's a wrap! There are a few reading days left in 2023, but my current ARC releases on January 1st so I'll be throwing it into next year. I wasn't sure that I'd meet my reading goal of 175 books this year, but with a holiday novella binge during November and December, I pulled it off! All in all, I finished reading 189 books this year and discovered so many AMAZING stories! Here are my favorites:



IF THIS IS LOVE

by JEWEL E. ANN


THIS. BOOK. My top read of 2023.


Milo belongs to Indie. She's crushed on him since she was a little girl. She turned to him when she lost the most important person in her life. She fell in love with him and dreamed of marrying him someday. But Milo has secrets. And Milo has promised to marry someone else -- Indie's worst enemy.


Now, this is an age-gap, forbidden, arranged marriage romance. There are aspects of this story that some readers may not like, but you have to trust the author. And I do trust this author. Arranged marriages aren't necessarily my favorite trope, but the thing that I love about Jewel E. Ann is that she can take a trope that I've read a dozen times and turn it into something entirely new and refreshing. Yes, I've read a lot of arranged marriage books, but none of them have been quite like this one.


This story made me so mad! I was so angry for both Milo and Indie. I was heartbroken for them both too. This book is beyond angst. It gave me anxiety and maybe a few heart palpitations. This story consumed me to the point that I didn't want to put it down. At times, I couldn't put it down! I needed to see what was going to happen next while dreading what was going to happen next. I wanted to scream. I wanted to throw my Kindle. There are characters within this book who have joined my list of all time most disliked villains. But Milo and Indie? Oh, how I loved them!


If This is Love is a heart wrenching story of true love, sacrifice, loyalty, freedom, and forgiveness. 5+ stars!






THE SUMMER WE FELL

by ELIZABETH O'ROARK


I don't recall who recommended this book to me, but I owe them a huge 'thank you'. The Summer We Fell is a forbidden, boyfriend's best friend, second chance romance, and it's everything that I look for in a love story.


Juliet, Danny and Luke's story is beautifully told. Chapter-by-chapter, we're taken from Then to Now as this love triangle tragically unfolds. My heart broke for these characters again and again. I wanted to curse this author for the unfairness of it all, but I didn't want to put this book down in hopes of a HEA.


This truly is my favorite kind of romance. Young love, forbidden love, heartbreak, tragedy, and a second chance that kept my heart racing and had me anxiously flipping the pages. I felt so much for these characters and I never wanted their story to end.






WHAT WE BROKE

by MARLEY VALENTINE


I can't recall the last time that I so equally smiled and cried while reading a book. This is not only one of the best MM romances that I've read, it's also one of the best married couple books that I've read. My only complaint is that this story came to an end.


Jesse and Leo had a nearly perfect marriage until an unthinkable tragedy tore them apart. Now, they can't be in the same room, can't look each other in the eye. Their relationship is broken, but one of these men is unwilling to give up. He is determined to give everything to fix their marriage, but at what cost to his own self?


Before and After. The beginning of Jesse's and Leo's relationship is beautifully heartwarming while the demise of their marriage is tragically heartbreaking. The author does a perfect job of balancing the past with the present, giving the reader the greatest of highs to balance the darkest of lows. I smiled and swooned as often as I cried and felt my heart break. I fell in love with not only Jesse and Leo but with their unconventional family and their support system too. Every single character in this book found a place in my heart, and I didn't want to leave them as I turned the final page.


While this book does deal with some very heavy topics (please check out the trigger warnings), the story is written so beautifully, so realistically. It's a true look at marriage, love, loss, grief, and family. Jesse's and Leo's story grabbed my heart from the very first page and didn't let go. I read this book in nearly one sitting and would have loved nothing more than to continue to live in their world for awhile longer. I absolutely loved this one and I cannot recommend it enough. All. The. Stars.





BITTERSWEET MELODY

by KATE STEWART


Although this is supposed to be an "extended epilogue", it really does have the feel of a novella (and it's longer than some novellas that I've read). If you haven't read Drive and Reverse yet, you'll want to read those two books before picking up this one as this is full of spoilers. In Bittersweet Melody, we catch up with Natalie and Easton and their parents, and it's everything that I didn't know that I needed.


In true Kate Stewart fashion, this epilogue isn't just some light fluffy read. Even though Easton is a rock star, and the majority of us have not grown up to marry rock royalty, this book still feels so REAL. This is real-life relationship and marriage struggles. This is an emotional read at times that brought me to tears, but it made me smile and laugh too. It was the perfect "bonus" ending to the Bittersweet Symphony, but I still hated to say good-bye.





BEFORE US

by JEWEL E. ANN


First off, I'd make sure that you have a steady supply of tissues before picking up this one. I cried A LOT over this book and I'm not talking just a few sniffles and tears. No. I'm talking full on sobbing-had to stop reading because I couldn't see or breath-UGLY CRY.


When Emersyn takes a job cleaning the house of Zach and his dying wife, she's only trying to earn enough money to get ahead of her student loans and medical bills. Oh, and she'd like to be able to stop living in her car. She didn't plan on befriending Suzie only to lose her. She didn't plan on her best friend's husband asking her to marry him for medical insurance. She didn't plan on falling in love with her husband while he was still in love with his dead wife.


As with all of this author's books, Before Us is beautifully written and is a rollercoaster of emotion. I found myself laughing even as I was sobbing. My heart broke again and again for Suzie, Zach and Emersyn, and for the first time in a long time, I honestly wasn't sure how this story would end.


True love. Lost love. Unrequited love. Forever love. -- Before Us has it all and THIS is why I read romance.





FRACTURED

by R. PHILLIPS


When you give a debut author a chance, you never know how it's going to turn out. Maybe it will be a one and done. Maybe you'll discover a new favorite author. When I discovered R. Phillips last year and started this series, I knew that I'd found a gem. The first two books in this trilogy were among my top reads of last year. I've been anxiously awaiting the conclusion to El, Coop and Jace's story, but at the same time, I've been terrified to read it. I knew that this one was going to hurt, and boy, did it ever.


What do I even say? I loved and hated this author and this story in equal measure throughout this final book. I cried A LOT. No, let me correct that. I SOBBED A LOT to the point that my son asked if I was OK and my husband suggested that I stop reading. This book gutted me, but all the best books usually do.


This truly is a very twisted tale and it's so much more than just a love triangle. This is such a complex, multi-layered story. These characters are bound together, their lives entangled, and there were times that I just wanted to walk away because I couldn't see how I'd be happy with any possible ending. Sometimes, you just have to trust the author though so I kept going. And in the end? Well, this story had the perfect ending, but I still hated it as much as I loved it. One thing though is for certain...I will never forget it.





THE COLDEST WINTER

by BRITTAINY CHERRY


I thought that this was going to be a heavier read, but then the first couple of chapters were on the lighter side with lots of banter and such, and I almost put the book aside. I just really wasn't getting into it at first. Then, I met Milo. Now, at first, I wasn't sure that I liked Milo. Then, I got this feeling that there was more to him and so I kept reading. I am so glad that I kept reading!


Milo and Star's story is forbidden, it's heartbreaking, it's beautiful. Star has always been the good girl, the perfect daughter. She lets go and has one wild night, only to find out that her wild night was with one of her students (she's a student teacher.) Milo is in a dark place and he can't seem to find his way out until he meets Star. She saves him, but he's afraid that he'll destroy her.


This is such an emotional read. I'm talking ugly crying, but in between all of my tears, there was laughter, and smiles, and swooning. So much swooning. I absolutely adored these characters together, and the way that this story unfolds is absolute perfection. From their families to their friends, each character in this story brought something to the table that made me live this story right along with each of them. The heartbreak, the fears, the love...I felt it all, and I did not want this story to end.


There are triggers in this book and it may not be for everyone, so please read with caution. If you do pick it up, just make sure that you have tissues handy!






THE SOUND OF US

by JEN SAMSON


I have so many things that I want to say about this book, but I don't even know where to start. First off, it was the cover that got my attention and then the blurb had me pushing this one to the front of my TBR list. The warnings at the beginning of the story almost had me turning away, not because I have any triggers (and this book is full of them), but because I knew that this was going to be a difficult read.


Axel has been in an abusive marriage for ten years when he meets a town newcomer Eli. Although Eli can neither hear nor speak, he understands Axel in a way that his own husband does not. As the bond between these two men intensifies, Axel wars with thoughts of infidelity and his struggle to survive.


Now, obviously this book will not be for everyone as it does deal with cheating and I understand that is a hard no for some readers. Let me tell you though...THIS. BOOK. Yes, it is a difficult read at times, but the cheating? That was a non-issue in this one for me. Axel's character broke my heart and he deserved every chance of happiness. I loved Eli and the strength that he gave to Axel throughout this story.


This story is tragic and heartbreaking and it brought me to tears more than once. This book consumed me to the point that I did not want to put it down, and I was left still wanting more, but yet relieved that I didn't get it. Some things are just better left unsaid and that's how I feel about the end of this story. Heartbreakingly beautiful. That's how I'll sum this one up.





BEAUTIFUL LIES

by PAULA DOMBROWIAK


I don't quite recall how this book caught my attention, maybe it was a teaser or maybe it was just the beautiful cover. Whatever the reason, I'm so glad that I took a chance on this forbidden, age-gap romance, because it exceeded my every possible expectation.


Lake is turning 43 and she's content with her career as a CFO and with her life as a single mom to her teenage daughter. She doesn't need anything especially the distraction of a man, but then she walks into a bar and locks eyes with Adrian Corvin. He's too young. He's forbidden. He might just be everything that Lake didn't know that she needed.


Now, let me tell you -- I was not prepared for the emotions that this book brought out in me. I smiled until my face ached. I cried until I could no longer see my Kindle. My heart broke and it was put back together. I absolutely LOVED Adrian. This man truly is the perfect book boyfriend. As a "mature" woman myself, I could really relate to Lake and I could understand every fear and apprehension that she had. Her relationship with her daughter was heartwarming and emotional. As a mom, I felt it all. SO MANY FEELS.





BETWEEN NEVER

AND FOREVER

by BRIT BENSON


Second-chance romance is one of my favorite tropes and this one instantly became a new favorite.


Levi may have loved Savannah from the moment that he met her, but he couldn't save her. He was ordered to stay away from her, punished for trying to help her. She was the first rule that he ever broke, but he lost her. When she returns to his small town years later, she's no longer the Savannah that he knew. Now, she's Sav Loveless, the world-famous singer of The Hometown Heartless. She's trouble and Levi doesn't need any more trouble, but he can't seem to stay away. Sav could be the last rule that he'll ever break, if the universe could just be on their side for once.


This is a lengthy story, but it's so well told that it still leaves you wanting more. As the title suggests, there is a lot of story here between the "never" and the "forever", but the author does an incredible job of going from the past into the present without trudging along in the 'in between' for too long. I absolutely loved how this story unfolded, how the storyline played out and truths came to light. There were so many things that I just didn't see coming and twists and turns that kept me frantically turning the pages.


I fell in love with Levi (talk about a character doing a complete 360!) and I admired Savannah for her determination and will to overcome all of the obstacles that were thrown her way. Both of these characters endured so much and I just desperately wanted them to find their HEA. There were characters in this book that I absolutely loved and others that I couldn't despise any more. I really hope that there are books planned for all of The Hometown Heartless members, because I definitely want to spend more time in their world.






SAVING RAIN

by KELSEY KINGSLEY


I read A LOT of books, and I'm just being honest when I say that I can read a 5-star book and within hours, I can forget the characters' names. Once in a while though, I'll read a book...meet a character...and I'll just know that I'll never forget them. Soldier. That's a name that I'll never forget.


Soldier was born to be a hero, a protector, a savior. He feels the need to protect at all costs, but some people just can't be saved, and maybe Soldier just needs someone to try to save him.


That's all I'm telling you about this story, because you really just need to read it for yourself. I will warn you that there are triggers galore in this book, so read with caution. I will also tell you that this is a heavy, heartbreaking, gut wrenching masterpiece. Second chance is one of my favorite tropes, and at it's core, that's what this story is. It's a second chance at life. It's a reminder that life is sometimes cruel and unfair, but behind the darkest of shadows, sometimes the light will shine through. It's a story of redemption and forgiveness, and above all, it's a story of love. This truly is a beautifully heartbreaking love story.


I've said for years that Kelsey Kingsley is one of the most talented authors out there today. As I've read her books over time, her passion, talent and writing has only continued to grow. With this book though? She has truly undone herself. This isn't just some romance novel that you read and forget. I lived this book right along with Soldier and Rain. Every disappointment, heartbreak, fear...I felt it all. I sat through so much of this story with a lump in my throat and a sense of foreboding hanging over my head. I thought I knew where this story was headed, only to be surprised again and again. I wanted to get to the end, but I didn't want the story to be over. This is just one of those books that I'll never forget.






ONE LAST RAINY DAY

by KATE STEWART


If you've read The Ravenhood Trilogy, then this was probably one of your most-anticipated reads of 2023. If you haven't yet read the trilogy, then stop right here, because you MUST read ALL of the trilogy before reading this book.


One Last Rainy Day is Dominic King's story and it's told primarily during the timeline of Flock, but this is not just a Flock retelling. While there are references to the events told in that first book, there are so many previously unseen scenes here in addition to an in-depth look into Dom's head. I'll warn you that it can be a dark place.


I thought that I was prepared for Dom's POV, that maybe it wouldn't hurt so much since I already knew how it would end. I was wrong. So wrong. This book took me right back and I felt EVERYTHING all over again: my initial uncertainties over Dom which slowly progressed to an absolute love for this man, my love of Sean, my anger with Tobias, my heartbreak. My God, the devastating heartbreak.


This story slowly builds, and at first, it almost feels weighed down by the heaviness of Dom's world within the Ravenhood. Seeing the things that he was dealing with behind the scenes, my heart broke even more for him. As his relationship with Cecilia changes, we see a change in Dom too. It was beautiful, and there were so many moments throughout this book where I just sat with a smile on my face. At the same time though, I just felt that black cloud hanging overhead, because I knew what was to come. This author is brilliant at dropping hints, so many things that (looking back) pointed at the inevitable.


In the end, I'm not sure if I cried more during Exodus or this time around, but I do believe that the heartbreak was even worse here. The last several chapters of this book absolutely gutted me all over again, and the ending? It's a little out there, but I found it to be the perfect closure that I needed. This book kicks off a new spin-off series: The Ravenhood Legacy, and while I'm not sure where this series is headed, I'll definitely be going along for the ride.





THE STARS ARE ON OUR SIDE

by JENNIFER HARTMANN


I had wanted this story ever since I first learned of Tabitha Brighton, the only victim of the Matchmaker whom he ever willingly released. Her story is everything that I wanted and more.


We first meet Tabitha in Still Beating, and if you haven't yet read that book (and Lotus), then you really should do that before reading this one. While you could read this as a standalone, there is so much more to these characters' stories that you need to know before picking up this book. I'll admit that since it had been quite some time since I read those other books, some of the details here were fuzzy for me, but slowly, it all started coming back.


Tabitha survived the unimaginable. She survived an abduction, being held by a madman in a dingy basement for two months, watching the man that she loved die a horrendous death. Now, two years later, she's ready to tell her story. As she relives her horrors, the only things keeping her going are her young daughter, the memories of the man that she lost, and the man that could be her future: Gabe. Gabe is patient and kind. He's everything that Tabitha needs, but she can't give him her whole heart and that feels unfair. Gabe has secrets of his own though, dangerous secrets. Just as Tabitha begins to hand over the remainder of her heart, Gabe's past comes back to break what's left of it.


This story truly does have it all. ALL. THE. FEELS. Even though (for the most part), I knew what was coming as Tabitha relived her abduction, parts of it were still difficult to read. The unimaginable horrors, anguish and heartbreak hurt to live through Tabitha's eyes. There were other moments though that had me smiling and laughing. There were moments where the suspense and unknowns were anxiety inducing. There were moments of such pure love that my broken heart felt put back together again. There were lines in this book that just made me pause and re-read them again (and sometimes again). Lines that were exactly what I needed and that I will keep with me, because they are just that well written.


With The Stars Are on Our Side, I am once again reminded of Jennifer Hartmann's unique talent and beautiful storytelling. If (like me) you've been waiting for this book, you're in for a treat. If you've yet to enter into this world, then I encourage you to take the first step. You won't be disappointed.






RAINFALL

by ALISON RHYMES


Let me just start off by saying that I devoured this book.


Absolutely. DEVOURED. It.


Typically, a secret child is not one of my go-to tropes, but this story? The love/hate relationship between these two is ANGSTY AF and I couldn't get enough of it.


Cillian and Isla met each other at 10 years old. They fell in love at 16 years old. Three years later, Cillian got drafted, left and broke Isla's heart. Now, five years later, he's back and he's meeting his daughter for the first time. Isla hates Cillian for what he did to her. Cillian hates Isla for the secret that she's kept from him. At the same time though, these two still have a love for one another.


Now, there are parts of this story that some readers will not like. There is OW/OM drama mixed into this story. There is a lot of fault in this story. And there may be a few triggers here for some readers. For me though? This story was the perfect mix of push and pull, love and hate, steam and romance. It's gritty and yet so emotional at times.


I wanted to hate Cillian and he definitely deserved it in the beginning, but this boy made it impossible to hold onto it. And Isla? Even at her weakest, she showed a determination and fierceness that I loved. She doesn't just fall back into Cillian's arms, she makes him work to gain her trust. Their story is one of forgiveness, not just of each other, but of oneself as well. It's a story of taking the blame for one's own actions and seeing how life could have turned out if different decisions would have been made. It's a story of trust...in the right person and in the wrong. And it's a story of family. The love a family.


This is an incredible start to this series and I cannot wait to see what story comes next. I'll be thinking about this one for a while and it has definitely become my new favorite Alison Rhymes' book.





THE CHOICE

by A. JADE


If you've read The Words (and if you haven't, you need to!), then you've already met Skylar, Memphis and Josh and you know how at least part of this story is going to end. The Choice starts at the very beginning though and it's the background that we need to understand these volatile relationships.


Skylar has survived the unimaginable and when she meets Josh, he's an answer to her prayers. He understands her in a way that no one else can and they have an unbreakable bond. Unfortunately, it's a bond that will slowly break Skylar even more. Memphis becomes her safe place, and in him, she sees what her future could be. Life is made of choices though and sometimes choices are made out of trauma, grief, love, and guilt.


The Author asks us at the beginning of this story to reserve our judgement of Skylar, and although I found myself getting so frustrated with her decisions throughout this book, I could understand some of them based on her traumatic past. My heart broke for her at times in spite of my frustrations. Although I liked Memphis when I first met him in The Words, I absolutely adored Memphis in The Choice. Josh on the other hand? Not. A. Fan.


Even though I know where this story is headed, I still cannot wait to see how it unfolds to that point and what happens beyond. The Choice is an emotional, heartbreaking, make-me-want-to-throw-my-Kindle beginning to the Star-Crossed Lovers duet and I am so ready for more.




NECTAR OF THE WICKED

by ELLA FIELDS


WOW. Just WOW. My heart was left racing from this wild ride and all that I can say is that I. NEED. MORE.


Nectar of the Wicked is book one of the Deadly Divine duet and it had me all worked up. Twists, turns, secrets, lies...it has all that and more.


The heroine of this story has been trapped in the middle lands her entire life, desperate to know the truth of who she is. When her guardian is finally killed, she knows that she has to try to find out her truth. Forced to pay off her guardian's debts in a house of pleasure, her first client is a faerie king who promises her everything that she's ever wanted. She soon realizes though that she's traded one cage for another and there may be no escaping this new one.


This story is a DARK fantasy romance and is set in an entirely new world created by Ella Fields. As with all of her books, this author does an amazing job of painting the scenery with such beautiful imagery that you can visualize every scene, every detail. And these characters! I love some of them, hate some of them, and love/hate some of them at the same time. I went back and forth so many times throughout this story trying to decide whom to trust, and as I turned the final page, I'm still unsure. I know that I do want to trust a few, but I'm honestly not sure that I can.


I felt every single emotion while reading this story and my anxiety was high throughout the last several chapters. As this book came to end, I was begging for the story to continue...for the author to not leave me hanging, but this is just the first half of this duet. This one ends in a MAJOR cliffhanger, but the second book comes out on January 2st, 2024.






THE MUSE

by EMMA SCOTT


This. Book. I don't even know where to start.


Cole is a struggling artist, a painter whose self-doubt has him on the verge of giving up until a visit from a beautiful demon changes everything. Ambri surrendered to the underworld centuries ago, but now his loyalty is being tested. He must bring a pure soul to the underworld and he finds the perfect specimen in Cole.


Cole finds his muse in Ambri; and after centuries of being abandoned, Ambri finds a soul deep love with Cole. They both find what they need in each other, but the dark forces of the Other Side were promised a soul. If Ambri doesn't deliver, then they'll come to get it themselves.


Now, I read a lot of books and a variety of authors. I've read some amazing authors, but there are some writers who are just more and Emma Scott is one of those. From her imagination and the worlds that she creates to the imagery and the emotion that she pens on the page, it's all just so much MORE. This story is more than a paranormal fantasy. The demons portrayed in this book aren't just fictional figments of a writer's imagination, but they're the demons that plague each and every one of us with thoughts of failure and grief and insecurity. This story isn't just a love story but also a story of survival. It's a testimony to the human spirit and the will to fight. These characters will grab hold of your heart and won't let go. My heart ached for Cole and Ambri. They made me smile, made me laugh, made me cry. So many feelings with this one!


The Muse is book 2 in the Angels and Demons series but it can be read as a standalone. If you've read the first book, The Sinner, then you'll see those characters again here and this story will be all the more meaningful because of that. This is the first book that I've read in 2023 and it's setting a pretty high bar. I already think that this could be a contender for a top read of the year.




CHASING RIPTIDES

by ALY STILES


I'm starting this review by going straight to the ending, because I'm not sure that I've ever read such a perfect ending to a story. I've said it before, but I'll continue to say it every time that I read a book by this author-- Aly Stiles is one of the best romance authors around today, and this book proves it once again.


Matty Silva is rock royalty, but he's never felt worthy of the title. He's been used and abused his entire life and he's accepted his place in the world. The only person besides his brother that has ever seen the real Matty is his best friend Britt, but he's even pushed her away. Now, she's back in his life and she wants nothing more than to save the friend who she's loved for most of her life, but how do you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?


Matty is a beautifully broken soul and my heart shattered for him. This wasn't an ugly cry for me (although I did tear up once or twice), but Matty's story just left this heaviness in my chest. I felt angry and sad for him and I just wanted to reach into these pages, wrap him up in a big hug and keep him safe from the world and from himself. Much like Britt wants to do. I loved Britt and her determination to never give up on her friend regardless of their outcome. Everyone needs a friend like her in their corner.


This book is a beautifully written page-turner that I didn't want to end, but again...the ending. Perfection. Absolute perfection.




FIVE THINGS

by VIOLET PAINE


This is one of those books that caught my attention via a social media post. It joined my never-ending TBR pile, but something kept telling me to move it to the top of the list, and so I did. I am so glad that I did, and I think that I just discovered a new favorite author.


If I had to quickly describe Five Things, I'd say that it's a friends-to-enemies-to-lovers, second chance romance, but it is so much more than that. This is a story of survival and forgiveness and freedom.


Beatrice has spent two years living in the shadows, but now she's ready to leave her protective bubble. She's ready to try living once again at college, but that only brings her face to face with her biggest mistake, Maverick. Beatrice just wants to move on, but Maverick is determined to send her back, away from the new life that he's created for himself since the day that ruined both of their lives.


I loved these characters from the very start, and although I found myself getting frustrated with Maverick in the beginning, there is no doubt that he was somewhat justified with his feelings. There is more than one victim in this story, but at the same time, this is a story about choices and the repercussions of those choices. Not everything is black and white. The relationships made this story for me, not just the relationship between Mav and Bea, but also their friend group and their families.


There are definite triggers in this book for some readers, so check out the warnings. This story deals with some heavy topics including anxiety and mental illness, and as someone who has lived it, I found this to be a very realistic portrayal. Aside from the heaviness though, there were so many moments that made me smile uncontrollably. I laughed, cried, and fell in love with Maverick (ultimate book boyfriend material). Now, I'm just left wanting more.






THE LOVELY RETURN

by CARIAN COLE


When I pick up a Carian Cole book, I know that I'm about to read something unique, unconventional, mostly likely a little taboo, and emotional. This book is all of those things and more.


What if death doesn’t do you part?


Careful what you wish for. Alex Fox made a wish on the worst day of his life, never imagining that his wish could come true. Six years later, a little girl wanders into his yard. Little Penny Rose doesn't feel as though she wandered into Alex's life by accident, she finally feels like she's found her home. As the years pass, Alex forms a friendship with the quirky little redheaded girl, but as time passes, they both feel an undeniable connection that can't be explained. Alex knows that it's wrong to fall for a girl half his age, but he can't deny his love for her. Penny is happily in love with Alex and she dreams of a life with him, but what if her dreams aren't dreams at all? What if they are her memories?


This story is beautifully written. It's a story of unimaginable loss, grief, and a second chance at life and love. There are twists in this story that I never saw coming, but they so perfectly tied this story together. The characters and the relationships within this book are so perfectly imperfect. The way that the story unfolds over twenty plus years is the definition of a slow burn romance, and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.


I truly felt every emotion while reading The Lovey Return, and the last several chapters (for me) were the most emotional and had tears falling onto my Kindle. Beautiful. Just an absolutely beautiful story and unlike any that I have read before. This will be one of my top reads of this year.





NEXT LIFE DUET

by BRIT BENSON


This duet was a last minute December read that shook up my list of favorites this year, because I couldn't NOT add it.


Enemies-to-lovers, bully romance, best friend's brother...those are some of my favorite tropes and The Love of My Next Life (book 1) has all that and more.


Macon Davis is Lennon's best friend's brother. He's also a bully, an addict, a delinquent, and she can't stand him. That was before she really SAW him though. Now, she thinks that maybe he's troubled and misunderstood. Maybe she actually does understand him. By the time that she finally realizes that Macon wants her, and she wants him too, they're already on a path to destruction. This book ends on a cliffhanger, and I'm so glad that I didn't have to wait for book two! *Note: Be sure to download the bonus scene for this book, because it is EVERYTHING.


In book two, This Life and All the Rest, tragedy brings Macon and Lennon back together after years apart. They've both changed, but neither can deny that the feelings between them have remained. They're not kids anymore though and they both hold secrets that could destroy everything.


This book took me on quite the rollercoaster ride. Secrets, lies, friends turned enemies and enemies turned friends...there is just so much to wrap your head around in this story. This book is much steamier than the first book and the angst is even higher.


I felt every emotion while reading this duet, and my only complaint is that I was still left wanting more. More of Macon and Lennon, more of this world...I didn't want to leave. I'll be thinking about this duet for quite some time.




So, there you have it, my favorite reads of 2023. I can't wait to see what 2024 has in store. HAPPY NEW YEAR and HAPPY READING!















23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page