top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Q1 Wrap-up: Here are my Top 10 Reads of 2023 (So far!)

Wow! I cannot believe that it is already the end of March and 2023 is a quarter of the way complete! I've read 50 books so far this year and I'm here to give you my Top 10 Reads of 2023 so far. Here they are:



IF THIS IS LOVE

by JEWEL E. ANN


THIS. BOOK. It's still early in the year, but I'm declaring now that this one will be on my list of Top Reads come December too.


Milo belongs to Indie. She's crushed on him since she was a little girl. She turned to him when she lost the most important person in her life. She fell in love with him and dreamed of marrying him someday. But Milo has secrets. And Milo is promised to marry someone else -- Indie's worst enemy.


Now, this is an age-gap, forbidden, arranged marriage romance. There are aspects of this story that some readers may not like, but you have to trust the author. And I do trust this author. Arranged marriages aren't necessarily my favorite trope, but the thing that I love about Jewel E. Ann is that she can take a trope that I've read a dozen times and turn it into something entirely new and refreshing. Yes, I've read a lot of arranged marriage books, but none of them have been quite like this one.


This story made me so mad! I was so angry for both Milo and Indie. I was heartbroken for them both too. This book is beyond angst. It gave me anxiety and maybe a few heart palpitations. This story consumed me to the point that I didn't want to put it down; at times, I couldn't put it down! I needed to see what was going to happen next while dreading what was going to happen next. I wanted to scream. I wanted to throw my Kindle. There are characters within this book who have joined my list of all time most disliked villains. But Milo and Indie? Oh, how I loved them!


If This is Love is a heart wrenching story of true love, sacrifice, loyalty, freedom, and forgiveness. 5+ stars!





BITTERSWEET MELODY

by KATE STEWART


Although this is supposed to be an "extended epilogue", it really does have the feel of a novella (and it's longer than some novellas that I've read). If you haven't read Drive and Reverse yet, you'll want to read those two books before picking up this one as this is full of spoilers. In Bittersweet Melody, we catch up with Natalie and Easton and all of their parents, and it's everything that I didn't know that I needed.


In true Kate Stewart fashion, this epilogue isn't just some light fluffy read. Even though Easton is a rock star and the majority of us have not grown up to marry rock royalty, this book still feels so REAL. This is real-life relationship and marriage struggles. This is an emotional read at times that brought me to tears, but it made me smile and laugh too. It was the perfect "bonus" ending to the Bittersweet Symphony, but I still hated to say good-bye.







THE HEARTSONG DUET

by JENNIFER HARTMANN


I really thought that I was going to get through book one of this duet with just a few tears. Seriously. I mean, I laughed until I almost cried once or twice and I did get teary eyed a few other times, but I really thought that I was going to actually make it to the end of a Jennifer Hartmann book without ugly crying. I should have known better.


When Lucy buys the little house next door to the house that she grew up in, it holds so many memories for her. Good and bad. It feels like home though. It's the home where two of the most important people in her young life lived - her best friend Emma and Emma's brother Cal. The memories bring her to apply for a job at Cal's auto shop, but Cal isn't the same boy that she once knew and loved. Cal Bishop is grumpy and tattooed and doesn't seem to want to rekindle their friendship. Lucy is the sunshine that Cal needs in his life, but Lucy has a secret that could break both of their hearts.


First off, I just want to say that Lucy may be one of my favorite heroines ever. This girl is adorably anxious and awkward and had me laughing out loud so many times. Cal is the perfect broody hero, and together, the tension between these two is the stuff that I live for in a romance. I loved these characters, their interactions and their chemistry, but it's the storyline that kept me turning the pages. I had so many assumptions about what was going on, about the past and secrets being held, and although I had some idea of what might be to come, I still found myself devastated at the reveal. And then, the ending. THIS ENDING. What kind of cliffhanger is that?! My heart, my poor heart...and the tears. Yep, I almost made it to the end, but nope. Ugly cry right as I was flipping those final pages.


After book two, I was just in awe. Sometimes when I close a book, that's what I feel. I just sit in awe, thinking about how another person can write something - just put together words on a page - and make me feel so much. Make me feel EVERYTHING. That's how I felt.


For much of book two, I sat by probably wearing the dopiest grin on my face, because this book made me smile. A LOT. It also made me cry A LOT, and it had me laughing so hard at one point that I was afraid that I'd wake my kids sleeping in the next room. Actually, I think that I went directly from crying to hysterically laughing at one point, within a matter of pages. See? AWE.


Book 2 of the Heartsong duet picks up right where book 1 left off, and yes, you MUST read book one. This is not a standalone novel. As Lucy and Cal's story continues to unfold, we dive deeper into both of their pasts and we learn the whole truth about Lucy's best friend/Cal's sister, Emma. This story is gritty and heartbreaking, but that's not what draws you in and keeps you turning the pages. It's the rawness, the realness, the emotion that this author pulls from you that makes this a book that you don't want to put down. This story broke my heart and pieced it back together. It made me see life in a slightly different light, and it reinforced my belief in HOPE after heartbreak.


This book is beautifully written, almost poetic at times, and this duet may very well make my list of top reads at the end of this year too. All the stars.





BEFORE US

by JEWEL E. ANN


First off, I'd make sure that you have a steady supply of tissues before picking up this one. I cried A LOT over this book and I'm not talking just a few sniffles and tears. No. I'm talking full on sobbing-had to stop reading because I couldn't see or breath-UGLY CRY.


When Emersyn takes a job cleaning the house of Zach and his dying wife, she's only trying to earn enough money to get ahead of her student loans and medical bills. Oh, and she'd like to be able to stop living in her car. She didn't plan on befriending Suzie only to lose her. She didn't plan on her best friend's husband asking her to marry him for medical insurance. She didn't plan on falling in love with her husband while he was still in love with his dead wife.


As with all of this author's books, Before Us is beautifully written and is a rollercoaster of emotion. I found myself laughing even as I was sobbing. My heart broke again and again for Suzie, Zach and Emersyn, and for the first time in a long time, I honestly wasn't sure how this story would end.


True love. Lost love. Unrequited love. Forever love. -- Before Us has it all and THIS is why I read romance.






THE SKY AT NIGHT

by SAMANTHA LOVELOCK


One of my favorite moments in any book is that "Aha!" moment when the title of the book suddenly makes perfect sense. That moment in this book gave me goosebumps (or as Heroin Heartbreak's lead singer Ty would call them - goosies).


I'd been anticipating this rock star meets mean/rich girl romance from the very first glimpse that I got of this couple. It was so worth the wait. This isn't your typical rock star trope and although it could be considered enemies-to-lovers too, it's so much more than all of that. This story deals with a lot of heavy topics (you may want to check out the trigger warnings). It's an emotional but very steamy read, and even though it's a bit of a slower burn, it gets HOT once it ignites.


The Sky at Night is a standalone novel and book one of Heroin Heartbreak, but there are ties to the Folkestone Sins series throughout this story. While you don't necessarily have to read Folkestone first, I think you'll appreciate this story and the character development within it all the more if you do (I won't say too much here because I don't want to give anything away.) Plus, Folkestone Sins is one of my favorite series, so I recommend that you read it anyway.


As with all of this author's books, this one is addictive and I did not want to put it down. I loved seeing this story unfold from both main characters POV's and I loved the secondary characters too. And the ending? Well, that ending left me downright giddy and ready for so much more.






CHASING RIPTIDES

by ALY STILES


I'm not sure that I've ever read such a perfect ending to a story. I've said it before, but I'll continue to say it every time that I read a book by this author-- Aly Stiles is one of the best romance authors around today, and this book proves it once again.


Matty Silva is rock royalty, but he's never felt worthy of the title. He's been used and abused his entire life and he's accepted his place in the world. The only person besides his brother that has ever seen the real Matty is his best friend Britt, but he's even pushed her away. Now, she's back in his life and she wants nothing more than to save the friend who she's loved for most of her life, but how do you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?


Matty is a beautifully broken soul and my heart shattered for him. This wasn't an ugly cry for me (although I did tear up once or twice), but Matty's story just left this heaviness in my chest. I felt angry and sad for him and I just wanted to reach into these pages, wrap him up in a big hug and keep him safe from the world and from himself. Much like Britt wants to do. I loved Britt and her determination to never give up on her friend regardless of their outcome. Everyone needs a friend like her in their corner.


This book is a beautifully written page-turner that I didn't want to end, but again...the ending. Perfection. Absolute perfection.






FRACTURED

by R. PHILLIPS


When you give a debut author a chance, you never know how it's going to turn out. Maybe it will be a one and done. Maybe you'll discover a new favorite author. When I discovered R. Phillips last year and started this series, I knew that I'd found a gem. The first two books in this trilogy were among my top reads of last year. I've been anxiously awaiting the conclusion to El, Coop and Jace's story, but at the same time, I've been terrified to read it. I knew that this one was going to hurt, and boy, did it ever.


What do I even say? I loved and hated this author and this story in equal measure throughout this final book. I cried A LOT. No, let me correct that. I SOBBED A LOT to the point that my son asked if I was OK and my husband suggested that I stop reading. This book gutted me. But, all the best books usually do.


This truly is a very twisted tale and it's so much more than just a love triangle. This is such a complex, multi-layered story. These characters are bound together, their lives entangled, and there were times that I just wanted to walk away because I couldn't see how I'd be happy with any possible ending. Sometimes, you just have to trust the author though so I kept going. And in the end? Well, this story had the perfect ending, but I still hated it as much as I loved it. One thing though is for certain...I will never forget it.






THE CHOICE

by A. JADE


I'd been anxiously awaiting this book since I read The Words. That book was one of my top reads of last year and if the first part of this story is any indication then this duet will be on my list for this year.


If you've read The Words (and if you haven't, you need to!), then you've already met Skylar, Memphis and Josh and you know how at least part of this story is going to end. The Choice starts at the very beginning though and it's the background that we need to understand these volatile relationships.


Skylar has survived the unimaginable and when she meets Josh, he's an answer to her prayers. He understands her in a way that no one else can and they have an unbreakable bond. Unfortunately, it's a bond that will slowly break Skylar even more. Memphis becomes her safe place, and in him, she sees what her future could be. Life is made of choices though and sometimes choices are made out of trauma, grief, love, and guilt.


The Author asks us at the beginning of this story to reserve our judgement of Skylar, and although I found myself getting so frustrated with her decisions throughout this book, I could understand some of them based on her traumatic past. My heart broke for her at times in spite of my frustrations. Although I liked Memphis when I first met him in The Words, I absolutely adored Memphis in The Choice. Josh on the other hand? Not. A. Fan.


Even though I know where this story is headed, I still cannot wait to see how it unfolds to that point and what happens beyond. The Choice is an emotional, heartbreaking, make-me-want-to-throw-my-Kindle beginning to the Star-Crossed Lovers duet and I am so ready for more.





FOR THE FANS

by NYLA K.


If you're a fan of Author Nyla K., then this book is for you. If you're new to this author, welcome to the fan club.


First off, this is a taboo/forbidden MM romance. Kyran Harbor and Avi Vega become stepbrothers and they couldn't be more different. Ky is the broody superstar football player and Avi is the dreamer artist. When a financial crisis hits, Avi has a plan to make some quick cash if only they can stop hating each other long enough to pull it off. It should be easy. After all, they're only doing it for the fans.


For the most part, this is a fun read, but this is a Nyla K. book so it's not that simple. There is much more to this story than you think going into it, and this book deals with some very heavy topics along the way. Amidst all of the banter, jokes and fun, there is a lot of emotional content that had me tearing up and made my heart heavy. There are triggers here, so be sure to read the author's note at the beginning if you think that you may need to heed the warnings.


For the Fans is a very long book, but I never wanted to skim even a single paragraph. There are A LOT of steamy times (I'm talking PAGES) of steamy times between these two and Wowza! It does get HOT! There is also so much chemistry, enemies-to-lovers and friends-to-lovers feels...ALL THE FEELS. There are parts of this story that will make you laugh, parts that will make you swoon, parts that may make you cry, and parts that will definitely make you just sit back and really think.


This book is going down as one of my new favorite MM romances. All the stars for Ky and Avi!






THE MUSE

by EMMA SCOTT


This. Book. I don't even know where to start.


Cole is a struggling artist, a painter whose self-doubt has him on the verge of giving up until a visit from a beautiful demon changes everything. Ambri surrendered to the underworld centuries ago, but now his loyalty is being tested. He must bring a pure soul to the underworld and he finds the perfect specimen in Cole.


Cole finds his muse in Ambri; and after centuries of being abandoned, Ambri finds a soul deep love with Cole. They both find what they need in each other, but the dark forces of the Other Side were promised a soul. If Ambri doesn't deliver, then they'll come to get it themselves.


Now, I read a lot of books and a variety of authors. I've read some amazing authors, but there are some writers who are just more and Emma Scott is one of those. From her imagination and the worlds that she creates to the imagery and the emotion that she pens on the page, it's all just so much MORE. This story is more than a paranormal fantasy. The demons portrayed in this book aren't just fictional figments of a writer's imagination, but they're the demons that plague each and every one of us with thoughts of failure and grief and insecurity. This story isn't just a love story but also a story of survival. It's a testimony to the human spirit and the will to fight. These characters will grab hold of your heart and won't let go. My heart ached for Cole and Ambri. They made me smile, made me laugh, made me cry. So many feelings with this one!


The Muse is book 2 in the Angels and Demons series but it can be read as a standalone. If you've read the first book, The Sinner, then you'll see those characters again here and this story will be all the more meaningful because of that. This is the first book that I've read in 2023 and it's setting a pretty high bar. I already think that this could be a contender for a top read of the year.



So, there you have it. My year is off to a great start and I can't wait to see how many of these Top 10 end up in my list of Top Reads as the year ends.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page