top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Not For the Faint of Heart! - An Early Review of Shallow River by H.D. Carlton



WOW. That's all that comes to mind when trying to come up with the words for Shallow River. This book doesn't come out until November but I was fortunate to be able to read an advanced copy. I knew going in that it would be a dark read, but that is an understatement.


First off, this book will not be for everyone. There are some serious triggers in this book, so if you have any qualms about mental and extreme physical abuse, murder, etc., this is not the book for you. If you can stomach all of that, then this book is a must-read.


There are parts of this book that are very difficult to read. Our heroine, River, has been through so much abuse throughout her entire life, and it doesn't get any easier for her as this story progresses. I was so angry and heartbroken for this character, and sometimes I was even angry at her for not trying to escape her torment. The author does such a good job though of getting inside the head of the abused that you can understand why and that makes the story even more impactful. River is definitely a survivor through and through.


As for the villian in this story...I feel like in most stories, the villian eventually finds some redemption. That moment where you realize what made them the monster, and they'll do something that makes you forgive them and sometimes even fall in love with them. NOT IN THIS STORY. By the time I realized why Ryan was the way that he was, I couldn't bring myself to care. The author does such an amazing job of portraying his evil side that I just couldn't forgive him and I wanted him to suffer.


Again with the warnings...there is one particular scene in this book that may go down as one of the most cringe-worthy scenes that I have ever read. I seriously read it with my hand covering my face and peeking through my fingers. It is that horrific, but at the same time, I couldn't even feel bad about it! Now, that's good writing!


I seriously did not want to put this book down. I was so angry throughout much of this story, and I just wanted to get to the end in hopes that River would find the safety and security that she so badly deserved. Amazing story but not for the faint of heart. This is the first book that I've read by H.D. Carlton, but it definitely won't be the last.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page