top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Leo by Jay McLean -- I need to go back to the beginning...

Leo is the third book in Jay McLean's Preston Brothers series, but it's the first of these books that I've read and I now feel the need to go back and start from the beginning. Leo is the story of Leo and Mia. Leo is one of seven children being raised by their father after their mother's death, and Mia is an only child being raised by her Papa after her mother and father abandoned her. Leo and Mia meet as children and develop a special relationship that they keep secret from their families. That secret, and both Mia and Leo's insecurities, will ultimately tear them apart and will haunt them both for the next 10 years.


This story is absolutely heartbreaking to read at times. I read many chapters with tears in my eyes, feeling every emotion behind Leo and Mia's actions and decisions. It deals with some subjects that aren't easily discussed in books, and there are glimpses into the previous books which also appear to deal with some tough issues with Leo's brothers.


I really appreciate how this story played out as it was more realistic, there was no "instant fix." You really had to fight for the HEA right along with the characters. There were a few surprises along the way, a couple of shocking moments that I didn't see coming until they were right there, just like in real life. I loved the chemistry between Mia and Leo, and the lessons that they all learned along the way. The author has built a world with this book that I wouldn't mind stepping into and living in, and I look forward now to going back and reading Leo's brother's stories.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page