top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Year End Wrap-Up: My Top 21 Romance Reads of 2021




As this year comes to an end, I'm taking a look back at some of the AMAZING books that I've read in 2021. From all genres of romance, I've read a little bit of everything. I've read books by some favorite authors and books by some new-to-me authors too. I've read over 170 books this year, and it's too hard to pick just one top read. So, here is my Top 21 of 2021 (in no particular order):



The Combative Trilogy by Jay McLean


Yes, I realize that I'm cheating a bit because this is actually three books, but I can't very well choose just one of them (and I'll honestly be cheating with a few duets and trilogies throughout this list.)


This trilogy made me feel like I'd just gotten off of a roller coaster and my stomach was in knots.


When I started reading the Combative trilogy, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. This story is addictive. It is all-consuming. It is one of the most intricately-woven stories that I've ever read, and I couldn't get enough.


After reading the first book, I was just confused...left with so many unanswered questions. After the second book, I had no idea how this story could possibly have a HEA ending. I just couldn't see any way that it could happen. I knew that my heart was going to break, and it did break, over and over again. I had so many emotions while reading this story. I felt actual anxiety and I cried so many tears, but by the very last page, I was so pleased with the way that this story unfolded.


Jay McLean has quickly become one of my favorite Authors, but for me, this story proves her true talent as a writer. The way that this trilogy is presented, from the future to the past and then back again, leaves so many questions and surprises. The story takes twists and turns that you don't see coming and the way that these characters' lives and storylines are woven together is just absolutely brilliant.




The Stray Prince (Royals #2) by Ella Fields


Paranormal, fantasy, royalty...I don't read a lot of this genre, but when A King So Cold was published, I read it because I'm a fan of Ella Field's work. That book was one of my top reads of 2020, so I was more than a little excited to hear that there would be a second book set in that world. The Stray Prince is the continuation of Audra and Zad's story, and if I thought that I loved Zadicus Allblood before...well, let's just say that he has forever cemented himself toward the top of the list of my favorite book boyfriends.


The Stray Prince is a complex, intricately woven tale of fantasy, royalty, secrets and deceit. There are so many characters, both from the first book and newly introduced ones, that I'm not sure how the Author could keep them all straight. This story sucked me in from the very first few pages and didn't let go. There were revelations that had my jaw dropping and twists that had me wanting to scream and throw my Kindle. I dealt with some serious anxiety throughout much of this book as the angst is high with this story. SO. MUCH. ANGST.


As with the first book, the otherworldly settings and creatures are beautifully described with so much imagery that you can visualize every detail. It's a world full of breathtaking magic yet unimaginable cruelty all laced together to create a world that you won't soon forget. These characters...I adore Audra for her bravery and wit while I wanted to strangle her for her stubbornness. And Zad...oh, my heart, Zad. I wanted to scream at him and wrap him up in my arms all at once.


My only complaint with The Stray Prince is that the story ended. Although I felt that it was a perfect ending, I was not ready to say good-bye. If you, like me, don't typically read fantasy or paranormal books, I encourage you to read A King So Cold and The Stray Prince. This story may just change your mind.




The Finish Line (The Ravenhood #3) by Kate Stewart


The Ravenhood Duet was my top read for 2020, so I was anxiously awaiting The Finish Line. It was worth the wait. Every single moment of it.


In The Finish Line, we finally see Tobias's story. All of it. This book takes us from the past to the present and back again. There are answers to a lot of questions, some questions that I didn't even realize that I had until the truth was revealed. There is emotion. A lot of it. Anger, fear, love, loss, brotherhood. You will feel it all within these pages. My heart was broken back open a time or two. At the end though, there is closure. A beautiful ending that was so needed.


I still don't think that I'll ever truly recover from this trilogy. Kate Stewart has written a masterpiece with this story. She has taken these characters: Cee, Tobias, Sean, Tyler, and Dom (oh, Dom!) and she's left pieces of them in my heart forever. That is the gift of an amazing author, and Kate Stewart has proven herself again with this final installment of the Ravenhood.




Still Beating by Jennifer Hartmann


First off, I have to admit that I almost didn't read this book. After seeing a few reviews and reading the warnings, I was almost afraid that it would be too much. I'm so glad that I took the chance and picked it up though, because Wow. Just Wow.


Even after reading the blurb, this book still wasn't anything that I was expecting. Yes, two people are kidnapped and shackled in a basement by a crazed man. Yes, there are scenes of rape and violence, but please don't let that warning deter you from this story. This is definitely a dark romance, but I've read darker, and those scenes are not graphic. They are not written for shock value. They are written in such a way that it's horrifying, yes, but only because you feel like you too are in that basement. You can feel their fear, their anger, their heartbreak, their need to survive.


I cried so many tears throughout this book. My heart broke again and again for not only Cora and Dean but for everyone whose life was shattered by this cruel twist of fate. This is an incredible story of survival and hope. It's a story of two people who find themselves forced into the most horrific situation followed by another impossible situation. It's a story of trauma, recovery, forgiveness, and unconditional love. I have no doubt that Still Beating will be a story that I'll never forget.




Candy Colored Sky by Ginger Scott


Candy Colored Sky was exactly the book that my heart needed. This story is heartbreakingly beautiful and I didn't want it to end. Jonah has secretly loved his neighbor Eleanor for years, but he's a math geek and a bit of recluse while she is a cheerleader, so he's admired her from afar. That is, until tragedy strikes Eleanor's family and changes everything. Now, Eleanor needs an escape and she finds that with Jonah. They become friends and then more, but as life's twists and turns take them in different directions, will they be able to hold on to each other? I cried so many times throughout this story...not sobbing, but I'd find tears just flowing down my cheeks again and again. Yet, in the midst of my tears, I'd find myself laughing out loud at Jonah's thoughts and his awkwardness. I loved Jonah from the beginning. He is NOT the typical book hero...he's nerdy and inexperienced. He has no game whatsoever when it comes to this girl! His loyalty and devotion to her though is absolutely everything. Eleanor broke my heart. Her life is completely turned upside down and she tries so hard to continue being her carefree self. I loved watching their relationship grow throughout this story and my only complaint is that the story didn't go further into the future. I'd love to see a bonus epilogue or another book in this world (maybe with Jonah's and Eleanor's friends) so that I can see where the future continues to take these two characters. Candy Colored Sky is possibly my new favorite Ginger Scott book. I couldn't put it down and won't be getting over it any time soon.




Scars & Silver Linings by Kelsey Kingsley


Let me tell you a story about a girl named Kenny who walks into a bar and meets a guy named Goose. Yep, that is the basis of Scars & Silver Linings, but it is oh so much more than that.


Kenny finds out she's unexpectedly pregnant, and just as she's beginning to settle into the idea of life with a baby and her on-again/off-again boyfriend, the unthinkable happens and she finds herself as a single mom to a baby that is in the NICU and can't even come home with her. As her friendship with Goose grows, he becomes more than just a friend. That Viking-like guy becomes her rock. Can they find a HEA like Kenny writes in her romance novels?


I was so emotional throughout much of this story. Now, maybe it's because I "know" this author from her social media. I have followed her real life story of her pregnancy, emergency delivery, and NICU baby. I know that "Kenny" is very much a part of Kelsey Kingsley. Aside from that though, this book is just REAL LIFE. It's not pretty, it's not sugarcoated, and there isn't added angst or drama just for the sake of a good story. This is just real, and it's heartbreaking at times, but the hurt only makes the HEA that much sweeter.


And let me tell you about Goose! I liked Goose when I first met him in a previous book and I seriously fell in love with him here. He has a troubled past and a heart of gold, and he was exactly what Kenny and her little baby needed.


This story seriously gave me ALL. THE. FEELS. I laughed, I cried, and I was left with a smile but still wanting just a little bit more. I've said before that Kelsey Kinsley is, in my opinion, one of the most underrated authors out there. She never disappoints and every single book is 5-stars for me. She's done again with Scars & Silver Linings.




The Falling Trilogy by Maya Hughes


The Falling Trilogy may be my new favorite by Maya Hughes. When I think of YA sports romance, she is one of the first authors that come to mind, and she has definitely outdone herself with this story. Dare is the high school jock, the popular football player with a temper, while Bay is the nerdy theater girl who prefers to stay in the shadows. When Bay gets Dare's attention with only a few months left of their senior year of high school, she's not sure how to handle him. They both have secrets and their time together has a deadline, but will that stop them from becoming more than just neighbors and friends?


I absolutely loved both of these characters. I fell in love with Dare and enjoyed seeing his relationship with Bay grow. She makes him work for it, and I loved that! As their story progresses, there is so much drama, heartbreak and angst. I wasn't sure if they'd get their HEA, and I anxiously awaited each new installment until I could get to the end. If you're a fan of angsty sports romance that will put your heart through the ringer, then this is a must read.




Restless Things (and Ruined Things) by Samantha Lovelock


Restless Things by Samantha Lovelock was one of my most-anticipated books of 2021, and it definitely lived up to the hype. Restless Things is the third installment in the Folkestone Sins series and this is just the first half of Sunday and Payne's story, so I'm cheating one more time and picking these two books for this spot in my list.


Sunday and Payne have known each other since birth and have been best friends since they were young children. It would seem natural that these two would eventually become more, and they were headed in that direction, until an unthinkable tragedy caused Sunday's life to spiral out of control. Unfortunately, she may just take Payne down with her.


This story is a quick page-turner that packs a serious punch. It has a bit of everything...mystery, suspense, heat, angst, both heartwarming and heartbreaking moments. I absolutely adore all of these characters and their relationships with each other. These guys (and girls) give serious friend goals.


I felt every emotion while reading Sunday and Payne's story, and the entire Folkestone Sins series has become one of my favorites.




Distorted by Nyla K. Going in, I was a little nervous about this one. After all, it's a M/M prison romance, and I thought that I knew what to expect and that made me a little antsy. In the beginning, it was pretty much what I was expecting, and while some readers may not be comfortable with some scenes that unfolded...it's a M/M prison romance, so you know what you're getting yourself into. Or so you think... Next thing I knew, this story was taking twists and turns that I couldn't even grasp. I thought I knew where it was headed, and that alone had me worried and getting a little anxious, but then...THEN, THE RIDE WENT OFF THE TRACK! I couldn't make heads from tails, up from down. I was confused, nervous, OBSESSED with this story. I read until my eyes felt raw because I NEEDED to know what was going on. After finishing, my obsession didn't stop. My mind wouldn't quit and I woke up in the middle of the night, unable to sleep for thoughts and questions that I still have. I fell for Dash right from the beginning. Oh, my poor broken boy! But then, enter Officer Kemper. I wanted to dislike him; I felt like I should, but I just couldn't do it. It felt wrong, but it felt right, and I was confused by my feelings about this story before it really even became confusing. And now, I'm probably confusing you, but this was my mind while reading this book. Nyla K.'s books always blow my mind. Sometimes, I just want to step away from the everyday HEA-romance with the typical angst. You won't find any of that here. This author will make you think. She'll make you question everything including your morals, but she doesn't write for shock value. So many dark romances (I think) are written just to shock or to see how far they can go, but not here. This story is art. It's dark, yes, but it's more than that. And call me a book nerd, but I absolutely LOVE that moment in a book where you understand the title, and we get one of those moments in Distorted. I know that I'm not getting over this one any time soon, and I am absolutely loving this series so far. I have so many questions left and I need more answers! This story will not be for everyone, but if you're willing to take a chance on it, I guarantee that it's worth the risk.



For Lucy by Jewel E. Ann


The tears were flowing throughout this book. I'm not talking a few sniffles or a muffled cry...nope, this was a full on sob-fest! This book HURT. It broke my heart over and over again, but in the end, it was worth every single teardrop.


I went into this book blind other than what I read in the blurb, and you should do the same. Emmett and Tatum's tale goes back and forth from the beginning of their relationship (when he "stole" her from her blind date) and the present, and as their story unfolds, you will feel it all.


For Lucy is a story that reminds us that just 30 seconds can change everything. It's real life and it's tragic. It's heartbreaking and it's ugly, but it's also a story of true love. It's not just the love of a husband and wife, but the love of a child. It's about loving someone else more than yourself and more than an "us." For Lucy is about hope and second chances, and it's one of the most beautifully heartbreaking stories that I've ever read.


Jewel E. Ann has given us a novel that is just so real that you can't help but to grieve and love and fall apart right along with these characters, and then amid the heartbreak, a smile or a laugh will break through. There are not enough words to describe the feelings that I had while reading and that I'm sure to have for a long time to come. You don't just read this story, you live it. Incredible. Just absolutely incredible storytelling.



Camden Walker: Apartment 8C

by Aly Stiles


Have you ever read a book and just wanted to crawl into the mind of the author that wrote it? That's how I felt after reading Camden Walker: Apartment 8C.


Camden Walker is one of the simplest yet most complex characters that I've ever met. He is simple in his wants and his needs, and yet, his mind is so complex in it's brilliance. Based on this story, I have to believe that Author Aly Stiles must have a brilliant mind as well.


Camden Walker is the product of a traumatic childhood, and no one will let him forget it. To the outside world, he's seen as damaged and broken, and he's accepted that truth. Olivia Price has loved Camden from the moment that her sister brought him home, and she's accepted that he can never be hers. After Olivia's sister dumps Camden, Claire can't just walk away. She sees him for who he truly is, and for once in her life, Olivia finds someone who sees her too.


This is a truly incredible story of survival: surviving trauma, surviving expectations, surviving living in the shadows. It's about finding someone who sees you for YOU and then helps you to find yourself. It's such a real, beautiful, heartbreaking, almost spiritual story that left me nearly speechless. It really is hard to find the words to describe this book. It is so much more than I was expecting, and once I started it, I didn't want to walk away from it. I have a feeling that I'll be thinking about Camden Walker for quite some time.




The Savage and The Swan

by Ella Fields


Again, I'm always quick to point out that I don't read a lot of fantasy, but then Ella Fields writes another fantasy romance, and it makes my list of top reads right along with The Stray Prince.


The Savage and the Swan had me on the edge of my seat and I didn't want to put it down. I couldn't read fast enough, but at the same time, I didn't want the story to end.


The king of wolves is a savage, a tyrant, declaring war as vengeance and destroying everything that is dear to Opal and her family. She's tired of sitting back, unable to help. When she finally flees, she ends up under the wolf king's paw. She has a plan to save her kingdom, but the stars have other plans.


As with all of this author's books, both contemporary and fantasy, the characterization and world building here is absolute perfection. I could visualize every page of this world that she created with such detail that I felt as though I was living this story rather than just reading it. The characters are mystical and intriguing, and I fell in love with the king almost immediately in spite of his savagery. There is plenty of action and plot twists, and there is enough heat to melt your Kindle. I felt every emotion with this one -- anger, fear and sadness, plus I swooned and laughed out loud more than once. I really did not want to leave this world and these characters as I turned the final page.




Things I Wanted to Say (but never did)

by Monica Murphy


With 'Things I Wanted to Say (but never did)', Monica Murphy has cemented her place as one of my favorite authors. This book is a little darker than what I've read from her before. This is bully/enemies-to-lovers romance at it's finest, and I didn't know if I should give it 5-stars or 5-flames, because this story is HOT!!!


Whit Lancaster is the king of the private school that carries his family's name. A chance encounter with Summer Savage changes everything, but when they meet again, Whit hates Summer and wants her to pay. So he steals her journal, guaranteeing that she'll do whatever he wants to keep her darkest secrets safe.


Whit is one of the most infuriating yet loveable jerks ever written. I loved to hate him and hated to love him. He has a dirty, dirty mouth. He's cruel and conniving, but oh so charming. He and Summer share the same depraved desires, and their chemistry is off-the-charts. Again, 5-flames on the heat index here!


This book is truly addictive. It's a long, detailed story, but I still didn't want it to end. Aside from the steam, there are secrets, lies and angst, along with incredible world building and character development. I enjoyed some of the side characters almost as much as our mains, and I only hope that we'll eventually get to read their stories as well. If you're a fan of bully/enemies romance, then this is a MUST READ.




The Sinner by Emma Scott


This story is one that I didn't even know that I needed. It is heartbreaking and breathtaking. It made me feel so much, so many things that I can't even really explain. I lost count of how many times I was brought to tears by just the simplest lines delivered with so much emotion. My heart needed some time to recover from this one.


Lucy Dennings is living a quiet, simple life. She keeps to the shadows and immerses herself in her romance novels, only dreaming of a love like that found in her books. Until one day, she stumbles across a dead body in the alley behind her apartment. That body isn't so dead though, and soon Lucy finds herself in a world filled with demons and winged creatures, and new dreams that seem more like memories.


This is so much more than just a paranormal romance. It's a beautifully told story of sacrifice, redemption, and forever love. It's otherworldly, yet it just feels so real. My heart broke again and again at the cruelty and despair, only to have it pieced back together again with a newfound hope. Even if you're not a fan of the paranormal, I encourage you to read this book. This is true romance, and I guarantee that you'll fall in love with it.



Dirty Curve by Meagan Brandy


When you pick up a Meagan Brandy book, you know that you are in for a wild ride. Dirty Curve lives up to every expectation and more. This one is all-consuming. I could not put it down, could not read it fast enough. It kept me up way too late, because there was no way I could stop reading until I reached the end.


Tobias Cruz is top dog, the big man on campus. He's a star baseball pitcher that is on the brink of going pro if only he can keep his grades up enough to keep playing. Enter tutor girl. She may be the one girl on the entire campus that doesn't fall prey to Tobias's charms, and that only makes Tobias want her more. She has secrets though that will definitely throw Tobias a curve ball.


What else can I say about this book without giving it all away? As with most of this author's books, you go in thinking one thing and come out thinking another. There are twists and turns, and it's a rollercoaster of emotions. This romance is absolutely swoon-worthy, but at the same time, it held moments that were frustrating and heartbreaking. I really could not stop reading. There was no way that I could think about anything else until I knew how this story was going play out.


And Tobias Cruz? Well, he may just be my new favorite Meagan Brandy hero. He's cocky and can be a bit of a jerk at times, but he is so much more than the arrogant athlete. It didn't take me long to fall for his charms and for him to steal my heart. And Tutor Girl? She's strong and determined, and I think that I have a little girl crush.


Dirty Curve isn't just your typical college sports romance. There are so many other layers to this story that I just didn't see coming, and I know that I'm going to be thinking about this book for awhile.




Ominous by K.V. Rose


There is no way that my review can do this book justice, but I'm going to try, so here it goes...


This is a LONG book and it's only Part I of Eli and Eden's story. Ominous is around 800 pages, and never once did I find myself skimming a paragraph, skipping even a single word. That is how well this book is written. I can tell you that KV Rose is an incredible author, but that alone is the proof.


This is a very DARK story. It's twisted and cruel at times. The author questions if it's even really a romance, and I'm not sure that I have the answer to that question. At times, I felt like it was a romance, a beautifully heartbreaking one; but, this is the love between two people who are fighting mental illness. They are loving in the only way that they know how:


"I want to break his ribs, just to curl against his heart."

"He wants to snap my neck, so I can't ever walk away."


Is it love or something more sinister? I'll leave that up to you.


Ominous is a prequel to the book Ecstasy which is where we first meet Eli, and you really should read Ecstasy first. If you've read Ecstasy, then you think you know how Eli's story ends. There is much more coming for Eli though, both before and after Ecstasy, and I really don't think that we know anything at all.


Eli's character is so complex. He's obviously mentally ill and he's lived through trauma which has only intensified his anger and his need for destruction. At the same time, he has this vulnerability that just tears at your heart. Eden is much the same, and her mental state makes her a walking time bomb. I went back and forth throughout this story, wanting her to save herself and walk away, while at the same time wanting these two to find a way to save each other.


This story will not be for everyone. It may not be for most readers, but...if you like DARK romance, if you don't have triggers (because there will be a lot of them here), if you're looking for a book that will consume your every thought even after you turn the last page...then this is it. I will be anxiously awaiting Ominous Part II even though I know that this probably isn't going to end well. Bravo, KV Rose. Bravo.




Heaven or Hell Duet by Trilina Pucci


Just Like Heaven and Sinning Like Hell make up the Heaven or Hell Duet, and this is a dark re-imagining of Romeo and Juliet. Our Romeo in this story is Calder. Oh, Calder. Calder is the bad boy, from the wrong side of the tracks, and I fell for him just as quickly as our innocent little Sutton does. These two are star-crossed lovers, with families that are at war with each other, and there just doesn't seem to be any way for their story to end well.


I was drawn into this romance from the very first chapter, and I didn't want to put it down. I finished the first book and sat with bated breath waiting for book two. The closer that I got to the end, the faster that I was tearing through these pages.


This story will leave you holding your breath and begging for more. My mind was racing and my heart was breaking, and this story totally consumed me. Definitely a 5-star read, and I cannot recommend it enough.




The Fisherman Duet by Jewel E. Ann


I had been anticipating this story for awhile, and it definitely did not disappoint. The Naked Fisherman and The Lost Fisherman is a funny, heartwarming, and slightly heartbreaking age gap romance. It starts off with a sometimes grumpy carpenter and an innocent church going adult-teen, and gives you a story that will make you swoon, laugh and possibly shed a few years.


Eighteen year old Reese is reunited with her mom after 5 years, only for her mom to leave town on business and leave Reese in the care of her 28 year old landlord, Fisher. From the start, Reese and Fisher have some serious chemistry, but Reese is a sweet girl that doesn't want to sin with the naked fisherman... or does she?


Reese made me chuckle so many times with her inner thoughts and her struggles to be "good." And Fisher? Well, if there is one thing that Jewel E. Ann knows how to do, it is to create some of the most swoon-worthy heroes EVER. I absolutely adored this man. ADORED HIM. These two have got to be one of my new favorite age-gap couples.


As their story progresses in book two, years have passed, and Reese has grown up. Tragedy strikes, and their story becomes an angsty drama, but still gives you some laughs. I really wasn't sure how their story would end though, and I couldn't stop reading until I had that answer. This story is original and refreshing, and it's one that I won't soon forget.




The Dreamhaven Duet

by Zee Shine Storm


I purposely waited to read The Stable Boy until book two was coming out, because I knew that'd I'd need to dive straight into The Tyrant Prince. Still, I needed some time to process my emotions from book one.


Oliver, known simply as the stable boy, was "rescued" from foster care only to be enslaved, abused and bullied by his new family including their daughter Paige. As a mute, Oliver can't defend himself. He can't stand up to those who torment him, and although Paige was never anything but cruel, he can't help but crave her kindness.


I was so angered, so appalled and horrified by Oliver's treatment throughout book one, and the events that take place, that I barely shed a tear until I turned the last page. Even then, it took several minutes for the tears to come, but when they did, I couldn't stop them. Just thinking about this story brings me to tears again. Oliver's story is horrific and tragic, and yet it's beautiful. You will feel SO MUCH while reading. You will share Oliver's fear, grief, hope, loyalty, and determination. Your heart will break at his torment and degradation. You'll be haunted by some of the scenes that unfold.


In book two, we witness Oliver's rise from darkness to see him take what's his, but still, there is so much heartbreak. He is a survivor, and it's difficult at times to read what he's been through. This story is DARK and graphic at times. It's such an impactful story though, that you won't soon forget it. There are triggers galore in this one, but it's so worth the pain. Amazing story of strength and forgiveness.




Perfect Strangers by J.T. Geissinger


This is another book that I almost didn't read. Even with the dozens of recommendations that I'd seen, given the comments that I'd read and the Author's own warning about this story, I was almost afraid to read it. Now, I can only say that I'm so glad that I gave it a chance.

What. A. Wild. Ride.


Olivia meets James while she's spending the summer in Paris, trying to heal from her past and find inspiration for her next novel. They agree to a summer fling only, no sharing of their pasts - not even their last names. James makes it impossible though for Olivia to keep up with her end of their agreement, and the man that she's falling in love with might not be the man that she thinks he is.


And that is seriously all that I can say about this book.


Seriously. You MUST go into this book blind. My head and my heart were all over the place while reading this one. I was saddened, shocked, devastated, relieved, concerned, heartbroken, and angry. I was up and down so much, and I did not want to put this book down until I had some answers! Then, the answers would lead to more questions, and yep, my anxiety took a toll. Even my husband had to hear about this one!!


Just read it. That's all you really need to know, but make sure that you READ UNTIL THE VERY, VERY END. Read until there are no more pages left. Just trust me.




Ripple Effect by J. Bengtsson


I thought that I'd finalized my "Top Reads of 2021" list, but then I read an advanced copy of this book and had to revise my list. This story was so much more than I was expecting, and I wasn't really prepared for it. This book drew me in from the start. I was instantly amused by the sarcasm and witty banter between our two main characters, RJ (aka Chad) and Dani. Then, came the post-it notes...and if I wasn't fully engrossed before then, well...that did it for me. What can I say? I love any story that involves notes, letters, texts, and the like. So, I was all in. But then... Then, came an earth-shattering twist that I did not see coming. I was completely blindsided by this storyline, and I felt EVERYTHING. I FELT every single heartbreaking decision, every cruel twist of fate, every fear and every tear right along with these characters. At that point, I could not put this book down. I couldn't walk away. I was consumed by this story. I absolutely adored RJ and Dani. Whether alone or together, these two characters had my heart. I cried some tears reading their story, but I laughed so many times too, sometimes even through my sobs. This is by no means your typical enemies-to-lovers romance, and I loved this original story and the way that the author developed this relationship. There were a lot of ups and downs, scenes that left me an emotional wreck, but by the very end? Perfection. The ending of this book was absolute perfection. Although I've only read a few of this author's books (and I need to change that!), she never disappoints. Until I pick up another one of her books, I forget what an amazing storyteller she really is, and she's proved that again with this one.


So, there you have it...my top reads of 2021. I hope that you'll add some (or all) of these to your TBR and will enjoy them in 2022. Feel free to drop me a note and let me know if any of my books made your list and tell me what books I need to add to my 2022 TBR list.


Wishing you all HAPPY READING in the NEW YEAR!




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page