top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

Here are my Top 10 Reads of 2022 (So far!)

Wow! I cannot believe that it is already April and that 2022 is a quarter of the way complete! I've read 53 books toward my goal of 175 for this year, and I'm here to give you my Top 10 Reads of 2022 so far (in no particular order):




SAY YOU SWEAR by MEAGAN BRANDY


I realize that I'll read many more books before this year is over, but I will just go ahead and say now that this book will remain one of my Top Reads of 2022 at year end. Without a doubt.


This book. Good grief, this book. My head and heart were all over the place. I wasn't sure how I was supposed to be feeling. My head was telling me one thing while my heart was screaming another. This is such an intricately woven story, with so many unexpected moments -- moments that made me cry, made me want to scream -- moments that had my heart hitting the floor.


If you've read any of this author's books, then you know that she's a master at giving us the angst. Well, let me tell you, she's outdone herself with this one. This book isn't just angst though. No, it's so much more than that. This is swoon-worthy romance that will have you falling in love. This is heartbreak that will bring you to your knees. This is an incredible story with ups and downs, twists and turns, that will keep you flipping the pages and will leave you wanting more. And these characters? You'll want to live in the pages with them and never leave. It's going to take some time o recover from this one.





OMINOUS: BOOK II by K.V. ROSE


At the beginning of this book, even the author herself questions if this story is really a romance, and I can't honestly say if it is. There were moments in this book that felt romantic, lines that made me swoon a little, but I wouldn't call it a romance. I would call it a love story though. Because here's the thing...not all love is romantic. Sometimes love is obsessive, and toxic, and borders on hate. There is a very thin line between love and hate. You can love someone with all of your heart, but hate what they do to you. And that's Eli and Eden in a nutshell. I wanted to hate Eli, but I didn't. I couldn't help but forgive his actions, because he's obviously sick and he's been through so much. And as much as I wanted Eden to save herself, I found myself wanting her to save him more.


Ominious: Book II is the third book in the Ecstasy series, and you MUST read the books in order. If you have read these books though, you know what is to come (or what you THINK is to come). I don't think that any of us really, truly know what to expect in Sinister which will be the final book. As for this installment though, we dive deeper into Eli's madness and see his vulnerability too. This is a HEAVY read, not because it's dark and twisted, but because it just feels so real. You can feel Eli's obsession for Eden, and you can feel her struggle to want to save him while also trying to save herself. You feel the heartache of a first love, that feeling of being 18 and being obsessed and just wanting to give up everything for this person that you've fallen in love with. You feel the heartache of losing the one that you love, of knowing that forever is not in the cards. You feel the fear of loving someone with mental illness and addiction. You feel it all right along with these characters, and it HURTS.


My heart felt so heavy after finishing this book, and although I know that this story is far from over, I also know that there will probably not be a HEA. Life isn't always about happy endings though, and that's what I love about this author's work. She doesn't try to tie up all of the loose ends and leave everything in a pretty package. She's not afraid to leave it messy, because life is messy. Mental illness is messy. It's messy, and it's heartbreaking, and it's REAL.


There are plenty of triggers in this book so it won't be for every reader, but I can't recommend this series enough if you're not afraid of a dark, disturbing story that will leave you feeling a little dazed and wanting more. I need so much more.





DOUBLED-EDGED by NYLA K.


This banned (by Amazon) book will undoubtedly go down as one of the most controversial books of 2022. The Author herself warns you at the beginning of this book that "This book will absolutely, undoubtedly not be for everyone" and she urges you (BEGS you in fact) to not read it if you're not open to it's themes. I agree with her warning 100%.


Personally, I was worried going into this one. I knew that this is a VERY taboo MMM love story featuring biological twins and their step-dad. I'd only read one other sibling book prior to this (not step-siblings), and I'll admit during that read that I was relieved to find out that one of them was adopted. THAT IS NOT THE CASE HERE. These are identical TWINS, and yes, there are explicit scenes between these two. So...heed the above warning.


Now, if you're still on board for Double-edged, you are in for one emotional, STEAMY, heartbreaking story. All of my worries were quickly erased as Cyrus and Colson's story began to unfold. This isn't just a taboo/forbidden trope written for shock value. It is so much more than that. These two boys have this unique connection with each other that, in a large part, stems from parental neglect and manipulation. They deal with mental illness and almost debilitating anxiety. They have been brought up in an environment that has taught them that they need to hide who they are. When their step-father Tauren enters the picture, he's the first person who has seen BOTH of these young men as unique and WORTHY. Yes, the relationship between these three characters becomes complicated and even they know that it's bad. Yes, this entire relationship is morally wrong, but it never once made me truly feel uncomfortable. So many times, I would even forget that Cyrus and Colson were brothers, because they just felt like soul mates. They were two halves of a whole, and the heartbreak and suffering that these boys endured...well, I couldn't feel wrong about what they were doing. They needed each other and they needed Tauren, and my heart broke for all three of them.


All of the issues within this book: mental illness, drug use, bullying, homophobia, parental neglect -- they are all handled respectfully, in my opinion. There is a lot of added drama that really takes the reader on one wild ride, and it's honestly a ride that I didn't want to get off of. There are plenty of messages in this book, but the biggest one is the same message that is in every Nyla K. book: love is love. That sums up this book perfectly, but again, I urge you to proceed with caution and only pick this one up if you can do so with a VERY open mind.





32 ROWAN BLVD by Kelsey Kingsley


Oh, my heart. If you are a fan of true, real-to-life romance, then Kelsey Kingsley is a must-read author, and she has brought it once again with this book.


Christy is a young woman who has lost herself to a world of sweatpants, diapers and food deliveries since becoming a single mom. She develops a texting friendship with her delivery guy, but she never imagines what might happen when they finally meet. Kev is a single dad who has been dropping off deliveries to Christy for years and he's curious about the girl that orders the tacos. Can a romance develop between these two or will their pasts get in the way?


This may sound like a cute, simple romance, but it is so much more than that. There are plenty of funny moments in this small-town romance, but there are some heartbreaking moments too and so many layers to this story. From the relationships that develop among all of these characters and the changes in those dynamics to the complexities of Christy and Kev's relationship...it's all so true to life and makes for a sometimes emotional read. I absolutely adored both Christy and Kev (he is the perfect book boyfriend material) and I didn't want their story to end. There are several characters that pop up from other Kelsey Kingsley books too, and that just added to my love of this book. Seriously, if you haven't yet read this author, what are you waiting for?


This is REAL ROMANCE with all of it's ups-and-downs...humor, heartbreak, forgiveness, and love. Lots and lots of love. If you are a lover of romance, then I cannot recommend this book and this author enough.





THE DIFFERENCE TRILOGY

by Aly Martinez


The world owes you nothing.


Such a simple statement that is the underlying message throughout this series. Wow. Just wow.


Bowen knows the above statement to be true, because the past year of his life has been nothing but tragedy. He found the woman of his dreams only to lose her to a horrific plane crash. He's resolved to live a life of loneliness and despair, but then along comes Remi. She survived the crash too, and when they crash into each other, the sparks fly. They are drawn to each other, and Bowen can't deny the pull, but there are secrets between them too. Bowen believes in fate, but this relationship may be destined to end.


Book one and two of this trilogy end in cliffhangers that leave you needing more, and book three will leave you wanting to stay in this world. This is a storyline unlike any that I've read before. I love these characters. Amazing story telling and plot development. The world building and characterization is on point. These plot twists?! So unexpected. I am guilty of forgetting what an amazing author Aly Martinez is until I read another one of her books. She draws you in from the first page...the first line...and she doesn't let go.





WHAT LOVERS DO by JEWEL E. ANN


Every time that I pick up a book written by this author, I know that I'm about to read a story unlike any that I've read before. I don't know how she comes up with these amazing storylines, but she does it EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.


What Lovers Do is a funny friends-to-lovers romance that had me crying (and not happy tears). The author once again brings her signature humor and heartbreak to the story of Shep and Sophie, and it was such a whirlwind of emotion. Shep is the charismatic employee at the pet shop where Sophie first made a big splash when she stopped in with her dog. They both love dogs and golf, and they both have pasts that they'd like to leave behind. Shep becomes Sophie's "happy place", but Sophie's real life won't allow her to stay there.


Now, can I just say that this author writes some of the BEST book boyfriends that I've ever met. Just add Shep to my list of favorites right now. He is funny, charming, sarcastic, arrogant yet vulnerable. Book boyfriend material? Check, check, and check. Sophie's life is like a sad comedy...you have to laugh at her predicament or it will make you cry. Together, these two characters had me laughing out loud, wanting to throw my Kindle, and had tears streaming down my face. And don't get me started on the secondary characters! Oh my... talk about an original storyline!


If you are looking for a funny yet heartwarming story unlike any that you've probably ever read before, then you need to read this one. And if this author is new to you? Well, you need to make some room on your TBR, because you'll want to read all of her other books after this one.





PIECES OF ME by JAY McLEAN


Oh, my heart. I had been anxiously awaiting Pieces of Me, the second half of the Pieces Duet and Holden and Jamie's story, for what felt like forever.


I will admit that I am a sucker for a second chance romance, especially one with a side of redemption. If there is one thing that this author knows how to do, it is to make you hate her hero while simultaneously falling in love with him. And you don't even realize that you're doing it. I loved Holden in the first book of this duet...LOVED him. At the start of this book? Not so much. I hated that boy more than once during this book, but by the end? I fell in love with him all over again. And Jamie? My heart broke for that girl so many times. If there is another thing that this author can do, it's bring the tears. Every single time. Good grief, the tears!


This story truly is a duet and you do have to read book one, Pieces of You, before reading Pieces of Me. Together, this story is tragic and heartbreaking. It's a rollercoaster ride of angst and emotion. It's everything that I look for in a second chance romance (and then some), and I cannot recommend this story enough. ALL. THE. STARS.





THE WORDS by A. Jade


After seeing this book being recommended again and again, I finally pulled it off of my TBR and read it, and WOW. It definitely lives up to the hype. This book has it all: drama, angst, humor and heartbreak...everything. It has EVERYTHING, and I felt it all. EVERY. SINGLE. THING.


Phoenix was always destined to be a star while Lennon was cast to the shadows. When their worlds collided, Phoenix finally made Lennon believe that she was special. Then, he broke her heart. Now, it's her chance to make him pay.


Now, I don't want to say too much because I don't want to give anything about this story away, but OMG. First off, Phoenix. I loved him. I hated him. I both loved him and hated him at the same time. Next, Lennon. I loved her. My heart broke for her. I got a little frustrated with her, but still loved her. Their story is a tumultuous relationship that will have you smiling, crying, laughing, and wanting to toss your Kindle. I couldn't get through this book fast enough. It's a pretty long book, and I couldn't think of much else until I got to the end of it. And even then? I still want more. I NEED more.


This is one of those books that I borrowed through KU, but I'm going to have to buy it, because I just can't let it go. This will definitely be one of my top reads of this year, and I highly recommend it.




NO MATCH FOR HER by STACY TRAVIS


Books like this are the reason that I read romance. It's an opposites-attract, friends-to-lovers, slow burn...and when I say slow burn, I mean sloooooow. That's the beauty of this story though.


After an awkward first date, Cherry asks Charlie to be her date at her brother's wedding. Until then, they decide to set up a series of "friend dates" to get to know each other better. Cherry has clearly put Charlie in the friend zone, and although he secretly hopes for more, he won't risk their friendship. Can this seemingly opposite pair put aside their insecurities and and find a HEA together?


Now, let me first talk about Charlie. He could not possibly be any more awkward and adorable, and I absolutely fell in love with him from the very beginning. He is joining my list of favorite book boyfriends. LOVE HIM! The friendship/relationship that unfolds between these two characters kept me glued to the pages, had my heart both racing and breaking. This isn't what I would call an overly angsty book and it's not an ugly-cry read, yet at times, I found tears just falling down my cheeks from the pure emotion. I could feel every insecurity, every frustration, every fear that these characters felt. And the love...I felt so much love in this story. Again, THIS IS ROMANCE.






THE STAR by ROSIE ALICE


I've read my fair share of forbidden/enemies-to-lovers/step-sibling romances, and I am adding this one to my list of favorites. I had never heard of this author or this book before I picked it up, so I really had no expectations. So, to say that this is one of my favorite reads so far this year...well, I was pleasantly surprised.


First off, let's talk about this heroine. Logan is a fighter and a player, and she doesn't back down to anyone. When her life is uprooted, she does her best to lay low and roll with the punches, but her new step-brother isn't going to make that easy.


Carson is determined to make Logan's life miserable and to send her back to where she came from. He underestimates his feisty new step-sister though, and before he knows it, lines are being crossed, and he's no longer playing a game.


This book gripped my attention right from the get-go. This is one of those books that you just hate to put down, and I could have easily read in it one sitting had real life not gotten in my way. I loved how Logan and Carson's relationship progressed and how this entire situation unfolded and was dealt with throughout the book. The story took a few turns that I didn't see coming and even made me a bit emotional at times. The secondary characters grabbed my attention too, and I can't wait to read the next book in this series. Until that's available, I'll be checking out some of this author's other books. Author Rosie Alice has earned herself a new fan.



So, there you have it...my top reads so far for this year. Now, let's see how many of these make it to my half-year wrap-up!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page