top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Tootle

5 Stars? More like 5 Hearts...My Review of the Heartache Duet by Jay McLean

Oh, my heart! Instead of giving this duet 5-stars, I'm giving it 5-hearts, because it is one of the most heartbreaking, heartfelt, and heartwarming stories that I have ever read.


Sometimes, you read a book (or in this case, a duet) that just touches you...like really TOUCHES YOUR HEART. For me, The Heartache Duet by Jay McLean is one of those duets. In this case, it may be because this story just hits so close to home for me.


This is the story of Connor and Ava. Connor has just transferred to a new school in hopes of pursuing his basketball dreams, and Ava is just trying to survive her senior year as she struggles to care for her mom. You see, back in my teenage years I was Ava. Forced to grow up too soon, becoming the caretaker, often being the adult when I just want to be a normal teenager. Even though my teenage years were three decades ago, reading Ava's story brought all of those memories back to me just like they were yesterday. This author wrote this story, these struggles, so perfectly that it makes me wonder if maybe she too has lived this life.


In book #1, Heartache and Hope, Ava and Connor form a friendship that turns into first love, but when goals, dreams and responsibilities get in their way, they are forced to accept that sometimes love just isn't enough. As their story continues in book #2, First and Forever, Ava continues to struggle with the responsibility of caring for her mom while trying to find a way out, and Connor keeps pushing toward his "end game" of basketball and a future with Ava. They find their way back to each other, but as both Ava and Connor try to protect each other from their own personal hardships, all they really do is push each other away once again. When too many secrets come between, will they be able to find their forever together?


I have never smiled through my tears as much as I did while reading this story. Ava and Connor have got to be one of my favorite book couples ever. As much as my heart broke for both of them, their relationship, their banter, their sweet and sincere moments together just warmed my heart and brought a smile to my face. This is a beautifully told coming-of-age story and one that I won't soon forget.


5-stars (5-hearts) for the Heartache Duet.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page